The Pic Saint Loup is a Mediterranean climate. But the proximity with the Cevennes mountains, gives a continental typicity which impacts the profile of wines and also marks its uniqueness. Three climatic factors must be taken into consideration:

Rainfall:

The Pic Saint Loup area is in an intermediate place between the Cevennes, particularly humid, and dry plain of Montpellier. Most of the rainfall are concentrated in the equinoxes of spring and autumn. These can be penalizing for grapes varieties which have a long maturation, but that procure an important water recharge and limit the stress of vines during dry periods. Pic Saint Loup ‘s region is the most well-watered throughout the Languedoc-Roussillon with the Terrasses du Larzac area.

Temperature :

The annual sum of temperatures on the AOP is around 16 °C. It’s one of the lowest in the Languedoc-Roussillon. The average temperature is around 12 °C or about 2 degrees less than Montpellier city. What particularly affects the vegetative cycle of the vine, it is the daily circadian temperature variations (> 12 °) in August and September. This is a characteristic of the appellation which contributes to the expression of finess and freshness of wines.

Wind:

The prevailing winds are the Mistral and Tramontane. With its landscape, the Pic Saint Loup AOC is rather protected from strong winds. Mistral and Tramontane blows but regularly enough to protect the area of the sea wind, the south-east wind, which brings moisture and sea entries. Thus, winds contribute to the protection of the vineyards against the humidity and the diseases (powdery mildew, greymold).

Le climat du Pic Saint Loup est méditerranéen. Mais sa proximité avec le massif des Cévennes lui apporte une typicité continentale non négligeable qui influe sur le profil des vins et marque aussi sa singularité. Trois éléments climatiques sont à prendre en considération :

La pluviométrie:

la région du Pic se trouve dans une zone intermédiaire entre les Cévennes, particulièrement humides, et la plaine montpelliéraine plus sèche. L’essentiel des pluies se concentre au moment des équinoxes de printemps et d’automne. Ces dernières peuvent être pénalisantes pour les cépages tardifs, mais elles permettent une recharge hydrique importante et limitent le stress de la vigne lors des périodes plus sèches. Le secteur de Pic Saint Loup reste le plus abondamment arrosé de tout le Languedoc-Roussillon avec les terrasses du Larzac.

La température :

La somme annuelle des températures sur l’appellation est de l’ordre de 16° c’est l’une des plus basses du Languedoc-Roussillon. La température moyenne oscille autour des 12° soit environ 2° de moins que sur Montpellier. Mais ce qui influe particulièrement sur le cycle végétatif de la vigne, ce sont les amplitudes thermiques journalières circadiennes (> à 12°) en août et en septembre. C’est une des caractéristiques de l’appellation qui contribue à l’expression d’arômes fins et frais dans les vins.

Le vent :

Les vents dominants sont le mistral et la tramontane. Avec ses reliefs environnants, l’appellation est plutôt préservée des forts coups de vent. Mais mistral et tramontane soufflent suffisamment régulièrement pour protéger la région du « marin », le vent de secteur Sud-Est, qui apporte humidité et entrées maritimes. Ainsi sur le Pic Saint Loup, les vents contribuent à la protection du vignoble face aux maladies liées à l’humidité de l’air (oïdium, pourriture grise). De plus, par l’apport d’air frais, ils favorisent à l’automne un bon indice de fraicheur des nuits.